“Another Time, Another Place”

U2, arguably the most famous band in the world, is in the middle of its 360 Tour and after buying three sets of tickets, my fiance Will has yet to see the band perform.  Let me catch you up.

Last April I learned they had booked a concert date on Owen Field (Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium) in Norman, Oklahoma.  This is a stadium where I performed a dozen times during my two seasons in the Pride of Oklahoma marching band.  I immediately bought four tickets (the maximum allowed for a preorder).  I called Will, who was living in Brooklyn, NY, at the time, and asked if he liked U2.  He said, “hell yes” and told me a story.  Years before we met, before he discovered opera, Will sang in rock bands.   Someone turned him on to opera and Will decided he could have a much longer career as an opera singer than he could by destroying his vocal chords singing rock.  His last rock gig, he sang Sunday Bloody Sunday (even though it’s a little high for him) and blew out his voice.  That was his last rock performance.

Jump forward to the week of the U2 concert.  Will was singing the lead role in “A View from the Bridge” in Brooklyn.  The production was scheduled for September but got pushed back and the powers that be wouldn’t let Will out of a day of rehearsal to see the concert.  (That’s another story entirely.)
I still got to see the concert with my brother, but that wasn’t the whole point.  So when I heard that U2 would be doing a SECOND North American leg of the tour, I immediately joined the fan club and as soon as the presales opened, I bought two tickets for the Denver concert and two for the performance in NY/NJ.

It seemed like things were going to work out finally.  We found out a way for Will’s work schedule to let us get to Colorado for the weekend and I put the flight tickets on Will’s credit card.  “Do you want to get the flight insurance for an extra $50?” I called to ask.  “Nah, the tickets are already expensive.  I can’t see why we’d need it.”

Famous last words.

The next day news stations reported that Bono had undergone back surgery and the entire North American leg of the tour was going to be rescheduled/postponed until 2011.

Only Nixon could go to China and only Bono can wear lasers and swing by a microphone cable.

The good news is that our concert tickets are still good whenever the dates are rescheduled, so we still have two more chances to see what might be the best concert tour ever.  The bad news is that we had $550 worth of non-refundable flight tickets to a city we no longer needed to visit.  Seriously, couldn’t Bono have given me a little heads up?  That guy is such a jerk.

We decided to make the most of it and have a weekend getaway to Denver and now that the weekend is past, I think it all worked out for the best anyway.  Sure, we didn’t get to see U2, but we still have our tickets.  And the entire weekend was about fifty degrees and rainy.  It wouldn’t have been great concert weather, and if it’d started lightning they probably would have cancelled.  Then we really would have been screwed.  We probably wouldn’t have gotten a refund and the concert probably wouldn’t have been rescheduled.  And in addition we had a great little vacation!   We were only there for a day and a half, but it’s too much for just one post.  Stay tuned for our U2-free Denver Antics.

____________________________________

*I don’t think Bono’s a jerk at all.  He’s actually kind of my hero and I wish him a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

