I bet you didn’t know Elephant Poop was GREEN!

I wrote about my DIY invitations the other day and I wanted to add a little information about my experience dealing with Karl at Mr. Ellie Pooh.

I first ran across the elephant paper at the Sedgwick County Zoo and thought it was awesome.  I bought a story book made from the paper and looked up the website to see what was what.

When I showed the paper to my fiance Will, we decided we had to use it for the invitations.  I wanted samples of the colors, so I tried to order 5″x7″ cardstock pieces of several colors, but some of the hues I wanted to see weren’t available.  I emailed the company and asked what to do.

Karl responded and told me to put the additional colors in the merchant notes and tell them “Karl says so” and he gave me a discount code to cut down on the shipping cost.  Not only did they send me samples (free of charge) of the additional colors I requested, they sent me a STACK of cardstock containing every color available, plus a bookmark AND a journal.

Of course the carstock was beautiful and I ordered the sheets for my invitations.  But then I thought, wouldn’t it be wonderful if I could share the Ellie Pooh story with all my wedding guests?

I wrote to Karl again and asked if I could have a couple more information sheets to have available at the reception so my guests could read the story of the Sri Lankan elephants.

This is what Karl sent me:

That is a stack of well more than 100 Ellie Pooh stories and over 200 business cards printed on Ellie Pooh cardstock.

On a personal note, I used to volunteer at the Sedgwick County Zoo (on and off for seven years) and one of the perks was getting to feed the elephants by hand.  Most people have seen elephants from far away, but up close they are remarkable.  You can see intelligence and emotion in their eyes.  They are playful and kind.  They paint better than some art majors and dance better than most white guys.

Plus another great bonus: by using Ellie Pooh Paper, you’re saving trees.  Saving trees and elephants at the same time–now that’s awesome.

If you’re still skeptical about paper made out of elephant poop, I’ll make you a deal.  Send me an email at jlada42@gmail.com and give me your address and I will personally send you one of these Ellie Pooh stories and a business card so you can see, feel, smell, and taste the paper yourself.

Leave a Reply

